Pickled Ladies Quilt, Block 1

The new clamshell pickle collections have me completely enthralled.  I immediately had at least three different ideas, one of which will involve  my favourite shabby chic fabrics and some Oriental prints.  I’m calling it Pickled Ladies as there’s a story that goes along with it which I will eventually write and share.  The first of the Pickled Ladies is shown above.

The back:

I’m fussy cutting/printing the clamshells.  It’s quite quick to do as I printed out one clamshell on a piece of paper cut down to the right size for printing just one shape, Mr. Q.O. cut out the interior of it and I have a window template which makes it very simple to figure out how to cut the fabrics and have a flower or other item as the centre of the clamshell.

The baby quilt top is finished, pressing is partially done and I’m still hunting for the flannel backing for it.  As soon as it’s quilted, which I expect will only take a weekend or two, we’ll get good pictures of it.

Labour Day weekend was chilly.  In fact, so chilly that on Monday we turned the heat on for a bit.  It’s too bad that it was chilly, windy and rainy as so many people head to cottage country for that one last summer long weekend.  Of course, today it’s supposed to be quite warm and humid again — typical of the weather here, as I can’t remember a year when, on the first day of school, we weren’t all roasting by the time school was over.

Smudge was curled up on the pink chair.

Lester was also on the pink chair … at the same time.

12 thoughts on “Pickled Ladies Quilt, Block 1

  1. Love the name – I agree with Jennifer! And I love the block – what a beauty – what size are you using?

    I am so glad to hear the the baby quilt is nearing completion – I can’t stand the suspense much longer 🙂

    Glad you’re back blogging – I missed you.

    Like

  2. I really laughed at the title of your posting. I was picturing a bunch of tipsy Victorial ladies LOL. The block is absolutely beautiful though :0)

    The boys must have been chilly too. It’s been cold, wet and windy here this weekend. I hope we get a couple more weeks of warm yet.

    Crispy

    Like

  3. Fussy cutting is really great on this pattern.

    The kitties are feeling the weather change if they want to cuddle. I didn’t turn on the heat but I need to check the furnace soon. It is 57 years old.

    Like

  4. Cathi, Pickled Ladies is just lovely. In fact the back is lovely too. (grin) This is going to be a stunning quilt. It was cooler here too this weekend, but that made it easier on us to get some outside work done. Winona

    Like

  5. Pickled Ladies conjures up quite the image! Love the name! I’m sure it will be gorgeous (as usual!).

    We had the exact opposite of you over the weekend… lovely weekend weather; cool, crisp, sunny, and then the rains began this morning. With all the rain we had this summer, it was about time, too!

    ~ Ronda

    Like

  6. Pingback: All About Inklingo » Blog Archive » Clamshell Pickle Scrap Quilt

I love reading your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.