Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Spring 2013

AmysCreativeSide.com

Amy at Amy’s Creative Side is hosting the Blogger’s Quilt Festival again. There are lots of categories and many, many quilts to be seen. Another great quilt festival that can be seen from the comfort of your own home! No having to drive long distances, so it’s a wonderfully green way to see many beautiful quilts from all over!

IMG_8058wtmk

Regular readers will recognize my entry from a recent post – Candy Stars. I’ve entered it in the doll and mini quilts category. I hand pieced it, using shapes I printed on my fabrics from two different Inklingo collections, and machine quilted it. It was inspired by a photo of an antique quilt that a friend sent me. As soon as I saw that photo,  I knew I wanted to make this as a small quilt.

IMG_7967wtmk

Once I made the first couple of tiny stars, I was hooked. Each star was made with .75″ 45-degree diamonds and .75″ squares. They were connected with .75″ red diamonds and octagons.

IMG_8059wtmk

I machine quilted it using quilting that followed the piecing as I wanted the pattern of the quilt to stand out rather than the quilting. This was the perfect backing for the little quilt.

IMG_8108wtmk

Then, of course, I had to make a special label for it. This little nosegay block was fun to piece. The green squares measure 3/8ths of an inch.

The little quilt measures 20″ x 26″ and contains 941 pieces. As I used a silk batting, it still drapes quite nicely even with all those tiny pieces in it.

KITTYBLOGGERSwtmk

“Kitty Bloggers Quilt Festival.”

IMG_8122wtmk

Baxter was very wide-eyed about something when we took this photo.

12 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Spring 2013

  1. We may have seen it before, but I still love this little quilt.
    I didn’t realise you’d used silk batting. Have you hand quilted with it before and if so, how did you find it? I now know a place I can buy Tuscany wool and silk batting by the metre in the UK. Trying to decide which to get for moonglow – what are your thoughts on wool vs silk?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Photo Friday: Be Quilting | The Black Tortoise

  3. Pingback: Vintage Inspiration – Quilt | As Time Goes...Buy

I love reading your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.